No. of :

No. of Shares:

Currently viewed by: Marcus Rosit

4 LGUs in Lanao Sur to start digital transformation in public services

MARAWI CITY, Lanao del Sur (PIA)--Four local government units (LGUs) in Lanao del Sur province are set to institutionalize the Localizing E-Governance for Accelerated Provision of Services (LeAPS) program.

LeAPS is a flagship program of the Ministry of Interior and Local Government (MILG) in partnership with UNDP Philippines. It helps the Office of the Chief Minister and aims to co-create and bring meaningful citizen-centered services towards digital transformation for more data-centric development planning and empowering Bangsamoro.

Butig, Marantao, Piagapo, and Taraka, along with eight other LGUs from around the region, recently signed an agreement with the Bangsamoro government to put the program into action.

"Digitalization is very good, instead of hiring a lot of manpower, it will be reduced, like in other countries, where you will see only a few employees, but the administration is functioning well and fast," said MILG Deputy Minister Abunawas Maslamama.

Butig Mayor Dimnatang Pansar said their municipality is privileged to have been chosen as one of the pilot municipalities for the program.

"Our signal is very weak because we are far from Marawi; LeAPS helped us a lot, it accelerated the delivery of public services like issuance of business permits, and live birth certificates, among others," he shared. 

The other pilot LGUs are Parang, Sultan Kudarat, Datu Blah Sinsuat, and Buluan of the two Maguindanaos; Bongao; Tawi-Tawi; Talipao of Sulu; and Lamitan City of Basilan. (APB/PIA-10/Lanao del Sur with reports from BIO)

About the Author

Apipa Bagumbaran

Assistant Regional Head

Region 10

Feedback / Comment

Get in touch