No. of :

No. of Shares:

Currently viewed by: Marcus Rosit

DepEd to hold CLRAA 2023 meet in multiple locations

CITY OF SAN FERNANDO, Pampanga (PIA) -- Central Luzon Regional Athletic Association (CLRAA) Meet returns after a three-year hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
It will be held on April 24-28 in various playing venues in the region.
Department of Education (DepEd) Regional Director May Eclar said learners who excel in various sports will once again be given the opportunity to further improve their skills.
“The participants in the Regional Meet shall be elementary and secondary, both junior and senior high school learners, athletes from public and private schools who participated in the Cluster, District, and Division Meets,” Eclar furthered.
Bataan Schools Division will host Taekwondo, Wushu, Arnis and Volleyball while Balanga City Schools Division will provide venues for Basketball, Basketball 3x3 and Table Tennis.
Bulacan Schools Division will organize the Tennis, Archery and Gymnastics events while Malolos City Schools Division will be in charge of Badminton and Wrestling.
Moreover, Nueva Ecija Schools Division handles Chess, Futsal and Softball while Pampanga Schools Division takes care of the Sepak Takraw events.
And lastly, Tarlac Province Schools Division was selected for Football, Baseball and Billiards while Zambales Schools Division was chosen for Athletics, Boxing, Swimming, Dancesport, and Paragames.
The regional athletic meet is in preparation for the Pre-National Qualifying Meet, an additional tier before the conduct of the Palarong Pambansa which will be held on July 29 to August 5 in Marikina City.

Central Luzon Regional Athletic Association (CLRAA) Meet returns after a three-year hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic. (DepEd Region 3 file photo)

It aims to lessen the number of delegations, shorten duration of the event, and lower expenses to be incurred—all without sacrificing the level of play.
“The new level will only feature team sports such as baseball, basketball, football, futsal, sepak takraw, football, and volleyball,” Eclar explained.
Under the new tier, delegations will be clustered into four groups based on their geographical location.
Cluster 1 consists of Ilocos Region, Cagayan Valley, Central Luzon, and Cordillera; Cluster 2 contains CALABARZON, MIMAROPA, National Capital Region, and Bicol; Cluster 3 groups Western, Central, and Eastern Visayas and Zamboanga Peninsula; and Cluster 4 comprises Northern Mindanao, Davao, SOCCKSARGEN, CARAGA, and BARMM.
The top two regional delegations per cluster will then advance to the actual Palarong Pambansa event.
“The modified competition format aims to prevent the disruption of classes and observe minimum public health and safety protocols as stated in DepEd Order No. 34, s. 2022, and other relevant policies and guidelines issued,” Eclar furthered.
Measurable sports such as athletics, swimming, and archery will adopt the qualifying distance, time, and points set by the Palarong Pambansa.
Other sports that do not apply qualifying standards in the selection of athletes and are not identified as team sports will advance directly to the Palarong Pambansa culminating competitions.
Aside from student-athletes from the 17 DepEd regional athletic associations, Filipino athletes enrolled in recognized schools overseas will also be allowed to compete in individual sports under the banner of Philippine Schools Overseas. (CLJD-PIA 3)

About the Author

Carlo Lorenzo Datu

Assistant Regional Head

Region 3

Feedback / Comment

Get in touch