No. of :

No. of Shares:

Currently viewed by: Marcus Rosit

Ifugao farmers prepare to become agricultural entrepreneurs

QUEZON CITY -- Thirty (30) agrarian reform beneficiaries (ARBs) from Ifugao province recently graduated from the Farm Business School (FBS) program of the Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR) to equip them with knowledge and skills to become agricultural entrepreneurs.

The FBS is a 25-session hands-on learning composed of eight (8) modules designed and developed to help farmers learn how to make their farming become enterprises and overall operations profitable and market-driven.

This undertaking, which is participated mostly by members of Ambasa Agrarian Reform Farmers Organization (AARFO),  is based on the directive of President Ferdinand Marcos Jr. to DAR Secretary Conrado Estrella III to improve the livelihood activities of the farmers throughout the country.

AARFO President Mongilit Ligmayo II said the participating ARBs and members of the ARB organization were able to re-frame their production-focused practices towards more entrepreneurial and market-oriented farming operations.

 “Otong chi punyamanan mi ta shahmi ji napili etoy FBS program ji DAR, (We are thankful that we were chosen to be the recipient of the FBS program of DAR) ” Ligmayo said. 

With the FBS, the 30 ARB graduates would be able to transform themselves into farmer-entrepreneurs or the so-called, “negosyanteng  magsasaka.”

The trainer, Mary Jane Lugo, emphasized that the FBS aims to develop the ARBs to become agricultural entrepreneurs, and to inculcate in their minds that farming is a business.  

“We are aware of your plight as farmers and we intend to continue to help and assist you in increasing your production which, eventually, will translate into an increase in your household incomes,” Lugo said.

Lugo also encouraged the graduates to be disciples in applying the methodologies they learned from the training.

The FBS in the province of Ifugao started in 2018. It has produced a total of 270 graduates from nine (9) ARBOs, which include the Pinto Vegetable Growers Association (PVGA), Saranay Multipurpose Cooperative (SMPC), Ubao Blooming Ladies Association (UBLA), Solid Rock Multipurpose Cooperative (SRMPC), Tinoc Sto. Nino Multipurpose Cooperative (TSNMPC), Panubtuban  Multipurpose Cooperative (PMPC), Mappit Agrarian Reform Farmers Organization (MARFO), Dilan Rural Improvement Club (DRIC), and the Ambasa Agrarian Reform Farmers Organization (AARFO). (DAR)

About the Author

Andrea Bancud


Information II from the Creative Production Services Division of PIA Central Office who also writes scripts for IEC materials such as AVP, TV Commercial, Radio Commercial and print materials. 

Feedback / Comment

Get in touch