No. of :

No. of Shares:

Currently viewed by: Marcus Rosit

BARMM lawmakers propose establishment of Climate Change Commission

MARAWI CITY (PIA)--Bangsamoro lawmakers have proposed establishing and institutionalizing policies, initiatives, plans, and programs dedicated to addressing climate change concerns.

Member of Parliament (MP) Marjanie Macasalong introduced BTA Bill No. 242, which seeks to create the Bangsamoro Climate Change Commission (BCCC).

The Commission, once established, will serve as the primary policymaking and coordinating body of the Bangsamoro government, responsible for overseeing, monitoring, and evaluating programs and action plans related to climate change.

Research shows that the Philippines ranks as the third most affected country by climate change, facing numerous challenges such as altered rainfall patterns, droughts, threats to biodiversity and food security, rising sea levels, public health risks, changing landscapes, fires, floods, storms, and climate-related diseases.

The Commission will develop a strategic framework and action plan on climate change that will be the basis for climate change planning, research and development, extension, and monitoring activities aimed at safeguarding vulnerable communities from the impacts of climate change.

The plan will involve, among other things, an evaluation of the impact of climate change, the identification of vulnerable communities, and an investigation of the differential consequences of climate change on men, women, and children.

MPs Basit Abbas, Abdulwahab Pak, Ali Montaha Babao, Tawakal Midtimbang, Susana Anayatin, Froilyn Mendoza, Bai Maleiha Candao, Abdulkarim Misuari, Nurredha Misuari, Atty. Sha Elijah Dumama-Alba, Nabila Margarita Pangandaman, and Albakil Jikiri are co-authors of said bill. (BTA Parliament/PIA-10 Lanao del Sur)

About the Author

Apipa Bagumbaran

Assistant Regional Head

Region 10

Feedback / Comment

Get in touch